

Faculty Senate Executive Committee Meeting March 24, 2021 Zoom Hall

Attendance: Attached

The recordings of the March 24 meeting are uploaded onto UB Box.

The Chair Dr. Robert Miletich called the meeting to order at 3.00pm

Agenda:

The agenda was accepted unanimously.

Secretary's report:

The Secretary reminded the FSEC of the ongoing SUNY Senator elections. The minutes of March 10, 2021 meeting was approved unanimously.

President's report:

Provost report: The Provost informed the FSEC that the UB commencement for 2021 will be held outdoors.

Faculty accolades:

A team of UB researchers led by Samina Raja received nearly \$1million grant from the Foundation for Food & Agriculture Research (FFAR) to test inclusive organizing models that advance policies supporting urban agriculture.

UB faculty members Jaekyung Lee and Anya Bernstein have received 2020-21 Fulbright Scholar Awards, one of the most widely recognized and prestigious global scholarships.

Paul DesJardin has been elected Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) in recognition of his exceptional achievements and contributions to the engineering profession.



UB biology researcher Gerald Koudelka has been elected by the American Academy of Microbiology into its 2021 Fellowship Class.

Alumnus Dexter Johnson was recognized by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) as the winner of their 2021 Diversity and Inclusion Award.

Parliamentarian report: None

Chairs report: Chairs report is uploaded on UB Box.

Obituary:

Dr. Joseph Masling, a pioneering researcher in Freudian psychology who taught at the University at Buffalo for more than half a century, died Dec. 29, 2020 at the age of 97.

Dr. Michael F. Wilson who was the Medical Director of Imaging at Kaleida Health, retired in 2020 after a 66 year distinguished career in cardiology. In July 2020, Dr. Wilson was awarded Emeritus Status by the Department of Internal Medicine, Kaleida Health, at Buffalo General Hospital. He was a trailblazer in cardiovascular nuclear medicine spanning from the very first nuclear imaging studies to fractional flow reserve with cardiovascular computed tomography (CCT) today. Dr Wilson died February 25, 2021.

A few moments of silence was maintained in memory of these, our colleagues.

New or Unfinished Business:

Presentations:

Diane Christian, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of English gave an update on the activities of the Academic Planning and Assessment committee for the year 2020.

The Chair thanked the committee for their hard work and diligence.

Eviva Weintraub gave an update on the Elsevier contract.

The Chair presented the President's response (on UB Box) to the Bunsis report resolution passed in September 2019. This will continue to be an ongoing conversation.



Adjourned: Meeting adjourned at 4:21 pm. Submitted by Jessy Alexander, Secretary of the Faculty Senate, March, 2021.



Executive Committee Meeting Wednesday, March 24, 2021 3:00-4:30 p.m.

CHAIR: Bob Miletich - X

SECRETARY: Jessy Alexander - X

PARLIAMENTARIAN:

Richard Gronostajski - X

ARCHITECTURE & PLANNING: Hiro Hata - X

ARTS & SCIENCES:

Michael Cowen -

Ken Dauber – X Barbara Prinari - X

Maureen Jameson -X

DENTAL MEDICINE:

Othman Shibly -

EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY CENTER:

Michael Baugh - X

ENGINEERING & APPLIED SCIENCES:

Paschalis Alexandridis - X

Adly Fam - X

GRADUATE SCHOOL OF EDUCATION:

Janina Brutt-Griffler -

LAW:

Matthew Dimick - X

MANAGEMENT:

Michael Dambra - X

MEDICINE & BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES:

Anna Blumenal-Perry -Channa Kolb - X E. Brooke Lerner - X

NURSING:

Jennifer Livingston - X

PHARMACY:

Marilyn Morris - X

PUBLIC HEALTH AND HEALTH PROFESSIONS:

Albert Vexler - X

SOCIAL WORK:

Laura Lewis - X

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES:

Alison Fraser – X

SUNY SENATORS:

Cemal Basaran - X Philip Glick - X Fred Stoss - X

R.J. Multari - X

PRESIDENT OF THE UNIVERSITY AT BUFFALO:

Satish Tripathi -

PROVOST OF THE UNIVERSITY AT BUFFALO:

A. Scott Weber - X

PROFESSIONAL STAFF SENATE:

Tim Tryjankowski - X

COUNCIL OF ADVOCACY AND LEADERSHIP (COAL):

Mike Montoro - X

INVITED GUESTS:

Evviva Lajoie - X

Diane Christian - X

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Jessica Naish – X

Eileen Sherman – X

Robert Granfield – X

Christopher Hollister - X

Theodora Belniak - X

PHONE ATTENDEES: